taerowyn: (Default)
[personal profile] taerowyn
So it's Springfest here at lovely Southampton College. Basically an excuse for massive amounts of drunken debauchery, not that most college student's need one.

So why am I here typing at my computer. Well, first of all I'm VERY sober. I'm not saying I didn't drink, I'm just saying that apparently 4 travel mugs of Captain and Dr. Pepper (tastes better than it sounds) and 3 jello shots and a lot of random vodka soaked fruit have no effect on my sobriety. Ce la vie or however you spell it.

Second, now that I've gotten into this a bit more, I find it strangely addicting.

And third, I was just involved in the death of a deer. NO, I did not hit it. I would be a lot more upset if I had. What happened was my best friend and I were on our way to the beach when we passed the poor thing on the side of the road. Kim, a soon to be veterinary-extraordinaire, gets out to check it and its back leg(s) is/are clearly broken. We head back to the dorms to call someone. Find a wildlife rehab center that's thankfully open at 2:30 in the morning and they say there's nothing to be done. Somehow they can do something for front leg breaks, but not back. They said we had to call the police and they would come and "put her down." So we start to head back and Kim calls on her cell phone. We're there all of a minute before a cop pulls up. Talk about service.

Anyway, the officer gets out and looks us both over...
"So, who was driving?"
What? does he think we're drunk? Why does the driver matter? OH!! "We weren't the ones who hit her, we just found her."
"Are you sure?"
I think I would remember something like hitting a deer. "If we had been the ones to hit her we'd be A LOT more upset right now."
"Nobody's coming out to get her at this time of night." Like he's trying to tell us something he knows we aren't going to want us to hear.
"We know, we called rehab and they told us what has to be done. You're not breaking bad news to us, it's ok."
"I don't think you guys are going to be around."
"We know....thanks."
And we left.

Now what I have to wonder is did he shoot her? The woman said "put her down" which implies euthanasia or something, but a cop wouldn't be trained in that. I know dead is dead, but somehow it seems better to have euthanasia as opposed to a bullet to the brain.

oh deer!

Date: 2001-04-29 02:54 am (UTC)
From: (Anonymous)
at least they sent someone out right away, lest Bambi suffer overnight. Wolves & all

(no subject)

Date: 2001-04-30 09:17 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] synwave.livejournal.com
Saw a cat like that dragging itself. Wanted to take care of it but didn't have a shot or a gun and couldn't bring myself to use my hands or go home and come back with a knife... it was lame. Never thought of calling the humane society. But now I know and knowing is half the battle, of course I hope I don't have to go through that again.

(no subject)

Date: 2001-05-01 05:40 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] skunk237.livejournal.com
so, i guess since you couldn't bear to do it with your bare hands or a knife, running over it's head i guess would be out of the question?

Profile

taerowyn: (Default)
taerowyn

July 2011

S M T W T F S
     12
34567 89
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      

Most Popular Tags

Page Summary

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags