Sep. 3rd, 2004

taerowyn: (headache)
Let's start at the beginning...the pre-speech video, where somehow, pitching a baseball became symbolic of saving the world. Yes, you're in NY and you might get the city full of Democrats to like you by plugging for the Yankees, but I really think they're a smidge smarter than that.

For a party that supposedly wasn't using national tragedy for personal gain, 9/11 sure as hell came up nauseatingly often.

"America's schools are getting better"?!?!? I'm sorry, wha?! Cutting funding to Headstart, losing extracurricular activities, losing basic safety... oh but we got us some standardized tests (not neccessarily good scores, but the tests, damnit) so we must be doing good.

And he's still pulling this "compassionate conservative" crap? Please.

"The story of America is the story of expanding liberty, an ever-widening circle, constantly growing to reach further and include more." HAHAHAHAHAHA...So the U.S. Patriot Act and those "free speech zones" right outside were just what... pipe dreams?

Minor irksome detail... the talk of changes in the workforce focused on men and moms. Apparently women without children don't actually exist in Bushland.

And, of course, deregulating business and giving them bigger tax cuts is definitely going to help the average working class American. I can so see the logic of that.

Don't worry about healthcare, we'll make it more affordable by making it harder to sue doctors, so when they leave a sponge in you (happened to a friend) the operation that screwed you over and the second one to remove the problem will be cheaper and we're saving you the cost of lawyer's fees since you won't be able to sue for damages.

Maybe it's just me, but the phrase "ownership society" leaves a bad taste in the mouth. Unfortuantely, I can see where it can appeal to a lot of people. We're heading back to the "It's all about me. Mine, Mine Mine," eighties-type era. And wheeeeeee! wasn't that fun the first time around.

You know what's funny? There's all this talk of 9/11 and the war on terror yadda yadda yadda, but there's something missing. Who isn't mentioned? Who was enemy numero uno in the months following 9/11? Wait, wasn't there some guy named Osama we were trying to capture at one point? What ever happened to that guy?

Oh, and considering your party's history, maybe raising Nicarauga up as an example of "job well done" isn't the best idea ever.

I just...GAH! I can only answer the chants of "four more years" with Just four months...Please!

-----------
And for my fellow Bosotnians (and those interested) here's something about our fair Governor.
taerowyn: (Funny)
Don't know a) how many of you will have already received this and b) how many of these are real, but they're funny:

Here are the top nine comments made by NBC sports commentators during the Summer Olympics that they would like to take back and, except for Paul Hamm, they get paid the "big bucks":

1. Weightlifting commentator: "This is Gregoriava from Bulgaria. I saw her snatch this morning during her warm up and it was amazing."

2. Dressage commentator: "This is really a lovely horse and I speak from personal experience since I once mounted her mother."

3. Paul Hamm, Gymnast: "I owe a lot to my parents, especially my mother and father."

4. Boxing Analyst: "Sure there have been injuries, and even some deaths in boxing, but none of them really that serious."

5. Softball announcer: "If history repeats itself, I should think we can expect the same thing again."

6. Basketball analyst: "He dribbles a lot and the opposition doesn't like it. In fact you can see it all over their faces."

7. At the rowing medal ceremony: "Ah, isn't that nice, the wife of the IOC president is hugging the cox of the British crew."

8. Soccer commentator: "Julian Dicks is everywhere. It's like they've got eleven Dicks on the field."

9. Tennis commentator: "One of the reasons Andy (Roddick) is playing so well is that, before the final round, his wife takes out his balls and kisses them, Oh my God, what have I just said?"
taerowyn: (book)
Ryan came by tonight to pick up some shit he'd left here in the shared-truck/move confusion and we just sat and chatted for awhile. Outside of Stu, he's probably the person I'm closest to in the program.

Makes me ponder my guy-friend tendencies. I've got two really close girl friends, but other than that, I seem to always be closer to guys than to girls. In high school I had three really close friends...two guys and one girl. College was one guy, one girl. Grad school, like I said, has been Ryan and Stu. Of course, it hasn't helped that this summer my only firends in town were the guys so naturally we got closer, but still, it's a trend in my friendships.

The thing is, I don't know why it is. I don't even know if there has to be a why or if it just is. Just random [livejournal.com profile] taerowyn-thoughts on a Friday night.

Totally off-topic, but I am so psyched for tomorrow. I get to see Neil Gaiman AND Terry Pratchett tomorrow. How cool is that? I'm definitely anticipating seeing the both of them speak, but I'm still up in the air on the whole "signing" thing. Do I really need one or both of them to sign a book? I just don't see what the big appeal is... Can somebody maybe explain it to me seeing as I have the chance tomorrow? Maybe if someobody can make me understand, I'll actually go through the effort of getting a book or two signed.

Profile

taerowyn: (Default)
taerowyn

July 2011

S M T W T F S
     12
34567 89
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags