Aug. 29th, 2004

taerowyn: (whine)
Between the coverage of the Olympics and the pre-coverage of the RNC, I am reminded more and more why I dislike newscasters.

First there's the fishing for disaster or controversy even if it hasn't happened. RNC protests that are "peaceful for the moment." Marathons where "every step could be a turned ankle." Relays with a huge lead and "all he has to do is make sure not to drop the baton." Olympics which will "hopefully end as peacefully as they've been these past two weeks." You can just see them mentally chomping at the bit for something to go wrong so that they can have a field day with it.

Then there's the whole gold, silver, bronze thing. Like the men's marathon..."so-and-so from Italy got gold, so-and-so from the U.S. got silver and so-and-so from the U.S. came in 12th." Um, what about the other medal? Yes, it's bronze, but it's still and Olympic medal, damnit. Reporters asking the men's 4x100 "so, are you disappointed you didn't get the gold?" And it's not just a newscaster thing here cause I saw an interview with Lisa Leslie and she had the same attitude, talking about the men's basketball team and how it can be seen as a failure that they have to play for a bronze, but that doesn't mean they shouldn't go out and play their best. Maybe it's an arrogant American thing, but it's crappy. It's an Olympic medal people. Hell, just getting there means you're tops in the world. .
taerowyn: (Default)
They really shouldn't be allowed to name hurricanes after Disney villians. Oh, you know you have the song stuck in your head, too.

Profile

taerowyn: (Default)
taerowyn

July 2011

S M T W T F S
     12
34567 89
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags